Milies, South Pelion

Pelion Settlement

Another Pelian village made out of dream stuff. Its fairytale aura and indescribable beauty will keep your eyes and hearts captivated.

Milies village is the final terminal of the famous railway of Pelion, while according to the legend, they were founded by migrants of a homonymous village on Evia who left their village in order to escape from pirate attacks. This was the reason that Milies has no any eye-contact with the sea.

What is Milies of Magnesia?

At a distance of 28 km from Volos is located the village of Milies. It is a mountainous, traditional village, with a rich history and typical Pelion architecture. Every year a large number of guests visit the village for their holidays, while there are many famous people (from Greece and abroad) who prefer this picturesque village to spend some moments of relaxation.

The Revolution of Thessaly against the Turks was proclaimed here in May 1821. Also, Anthimos Gazis, Daniil Filippidis, and Georgios Konstantas founded here in 1814 the famous library "Psihis Akos".

For riding lovers the nearby Equestrian Club located towards Koropi village is a perfect choice. While the area is also suitable for hiking, as around Milies there are many walking routes among the lush vegetation and the wonderful landscape.

What are the most important sights in Milies of Magnesia?

A particularly significant attraction of Milies is the Taxiarhes church that dates from 1741 and is located in the square of the village. In addition, the old Library "Psihis Akos" gives to everyone the opportunity to see rare documents of the Greek revolution, books, maps, but also old instruments of physics and chemistry.

About Milies, South Pelion

Last updated: 23 Apr 2021

address Milies, Pelion, 370 10, Greece