Among more than 600 churches and chapels that exist on the island, Panagia Paraportiani holds a special place, and this, due to its unique architecture.
Why does Panagia Paraportiani of Mykonos is so unique?
It consists of a two-storey complex that includes five small chapels, four of which are situated at its base, while the fifth one is located at its dome. The that is closer to the dome gives its name to the whole church, while the four chapels at its base are Agios Sozon, Agia Anastasia, Agioi Anargyroi, and Agios Efstathios.
The church owes its name to the fact that it is located very close to the small gate, or otherwise the "side door" (Para-portiani) of the castle wall of Chora. The chapel of the upper floor was built in the 16th century, while the currently closed narthex of Agios Efstathios on the ground floor was the side door of the Castle. The other three churches were built only in 1920.
Inside the church is housed the miraculous icon of the Virgin Mary, which, according to the tradition, was brought by a sailor from Samos island and placed in the church.