The lighthouse was built in 1887 and it is quite unique since it was built on a rock in the sea. It is located opposite to the Venetian castle in Chora of Andros.
It was operating until 1943 when it was destroyed by the Germans and rebuilt in 1950. In 1994 was restored and returned to its original form after a donation of the family Goulandris. Since then it's operating as an automatic beacon (lighthouse).