Probably the most important monument of the island is the monastery of Panagia Chozoviotissa which is the patron saint of Amorgos. It is built among the rocks, with a length of 40 meters and a width of 5 meters, while is visible only from the sea. According to researchers, it was built in 1088 and its name is due to the paraphrasing of the name "Choziva" or "Koziva" that was an area in Palestine which were hosting Orthodox monasteries.
The monastery has eight floors, which are connected by narrow staircases, carved on the rock, while totally there are 350 steps. The main church hosts two icons of the Virgin Mary, while two cells of the monastery are used as exhibition rooms. The displayed items are significant relics such as sacred vessels, vestments, gospels, and precious manuscripts dating from the 10th to the 19th century. The cells of the monks are also carved into the rock, making the monastery a unique example of folk architecture.
The monastery of Panagia Chozoviotissa celebrates every year on November 21 which is set up a great feast. It attracts many faithful while it is a great opportunity to visit and enjoy the beauty of the island during the winter.